You are here:  / CD Releases / feature story / New to the airwaves / New to the Airwaves – Upcoming Album Releases

New to the Airwaves – Upcoming Album Releases

New to the Airwaves – Upcoming Album Releases

What’s up, March! Though Week two of March is claiming some of our favorite releases, and we can’t stop dancing. It’s true, we DO love Fridays because there’s always a new record from an unheard of band we end up loving – but isn’t so cool to finally hear a record you’ve been waiting for for months? This week’s most anticipated record: Liza Anne. Y’all, if you haven’t heard the last few singles, you are MISSING OUT.

This week we’ve got some much anticipated arrivals that has us tapping our toes, crossing our arms, and screeching, “Finally!” We’re sure you can see which ones we think you should grab and which ones we think may deserve a pass… Dive in at your own risk, and let’s hear your picks!

**All dates are for U.S. releases unless otherwise noted. Dates are subject to change.


Acid Dad – Acid Dad (Greenway Records)

Ady Suleiman – Memories (Pemba)

Albert Hammond Jr. – Francis Trouble (Red Bull Records)

August Greene – August Greene (Independent)

Between the Buried and Me – Automata I (Sumerian Records)

Between The Buried and Me
Calum Scott – Only Human (Deluxe Edition) (Capitol)

Crippled Black Phoenix – Horrific Honorifics (Season Of Mist)

Datarock – Face the Brutality (Yap Records)

Dave Adkins – Right or Wrong (Mountain Fever)

David Byrne – American Utopia (Nonesuch)

Drudkh – They Often See Dreams About the Spring (Imports)

Editors – Violence (Pias America)

Embrace – Love Is a Basic Need (Imports)

Erasure – World Beyond (Mute)

Eric Chenaux – Slowly Paradise (Constellation Records)

Eryn Non Dae – Abandon Of The Self (Debemur Morti)

Feu! Chatterton – L’Oiseleur (Barclay)

Gengahr – Where Wildness Grows (Gengahr)

George FitzGerald – All That Must Be (Double Six Records)

Iggy Pop and Josh Homme, American Valhalla: The Story of ‘Post Pop Depression’ (DVD) (Eagle Rock)

Jake Miller – Silver Lining (Jake Miller Music Inc. / EMPIRE)

Jeremy Messersmith – Late Stage Capitalism (Glassnote Entertainment Group LLC)

Jimi Hendrix – Both Sides of the Sky (Legacy Recordings)

Jonathan McReynolds – Make Room (eOne Music)

Judas Priest – Firepower (Columbia)

Keaton Simons – 123 Go EP (Keaton Simons)

Kraus – Path (Terrible Records)

Krosis – Solem Vatem (Unique Leader)

Lil Yachty – Lil Boat 2 (Quality Control Music, LLC)

Liza Anne – Fine But Dying (Arts & Crafts)

Marillion – Brave: Deluxe Edition (Rhino)

Ministry – AmeriKKKant (Nuclear Blast)

Moose Blood – I Don’t Think I Can Do This Anymore (Hopeless Records)

Matthew James Mason – Refuge EP (Independent)

Myles Kennedy – Year of the Tiger (Napalm Records)

Nap Eyes – I’m Bad Now (Paradise of Bachelors)

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats – Tearing at the Seams (Stax)

The Neighbourhood – The Neighbourhood (Deluxe Edition) (Columbia)

Nightwish – Decades (Nuclear Blast)

Of Montreal – White Is Relic/Irrealis Mood (Polyvinyl Records)

Of Montreal-2
Oneida – Romance (Joyful Noise Recordings)

Quiet Friend – Quiet Friend (Elestial Sound)

Remo Drive – Pop Music (Epitaph)

Robb Bank$ – Molly World (SS Records / EMPIRE)

SAINT JHN – Collection 1 (New West Records / American Diamond Recordings)

Suicidal Tendencies – Get Your Fight On! (Suicidal Records)

Tania Chen, Thurston Moore, David Toop, and Jon Leidecker – John Cage: Electronic Music for Piano (Omnivore Recordings)

Tax The Heat – Change Your Position (Nuclear Blast)

Teenage Wrist – Chrome Neon Jesus (Epitaph)

Three Days Grace – Outsider (RCA Records Label)

Tom Grennan – Lighting Matches (Insanity Records)

Tom Waits – Closing Time Vinyl (Anti/Epitaph)

Travis Cottrell – The Reason (Worship Together)

Twitching Tongues – Gaining Purpose Through Passionate Hatred (Metal Blade)

Turbowolf – The Free Life (So Recordings)

The Watchers – Black Abyss (Ripple Music)

YFN Lucci – Ray Ray from Summerhill (Warner Bros. Records)

Young Fathers – Cocoa Sugar (Ninja Tune)

Gonna Be A Smash Hit:

Liza Anne – Fine, But Dying

Georgia’s own is reviving what it means to be a folk-alt conqueror, in that she’s taken over the genre altogether. From brutally honest ballads to everyday anxieties to mind-numbing paranoia, Liza Anne is someone you oughta know by now. Her resume is filled to the brim with folksy tracks, taking up two full EPs before revamping her sound with some bass lines and kick drums. “Paranoia” caught my ear thanks to her theatrical vocals (love emphasis!), but her lyrics kept me coming back; and it’s a good thing I did. I haven’t stopped listening to (read: crying to) “I’m Tired, You’re Lonely” since it dropped last week. God, FINALLY Fine But Dying is dropping this week – I can’t wait any longer.


In Case You Missed It:

Vesperteen – “Blue”

Y’ALL our pal Vesperteen dropped a single for the first time since “It Will  Never Be Enough,” which was a fine song, don’t get me wrong. But have you heard “Blue”? Honestly, you might have; Colin Rigsby’s gone totally bluesy with this one we could hardly tell it was a Vesperteen original. We aren’t sure if an EP is comin’ soon, but Rigsby has promised some new songs in the future!

Sheila Walsh graduated from USC Aiken in 2015 with a degree in English. While in school, she won an essay competition for an argumentative essay on why the arts are crucial to the education system. Additionally, she was recruited to play volleyball for USCA and contributed to a weekly journal discussing the life of a student-athlete. She currently resides in Charlotte, NC.

Shutter 16 Magazine:

Tune In To Our Podcast: