You are here:  / CD Releases / Columns / feature story / New to the Airwaves – Upcoming Album Releases

New to the Airwaves – Upcoming Album Releases

Another week, another list of brand new albums to soundtrack your life. With Grammy noms hitting the headlines, we know you’re fired up about your fav not making the list, or perhaps dominating the list, but it’s still important to dive into next year’s selections! We’re sure you can see which ones we think you should grab and which ones we think may deserve a pass… Dive in at your own risk, and let’s hear your picks!

P.S. We are STILL, yes still, absolutely going to ignore the fact Christmas albums are on this list.

**All dates are for U.S. releases unless otherwise noted. Dates are subject to change.


Alan Parsons Project – Eye in the Sky: 35th Anniversary Edition (Sony Legacy)

Andy Grammer – The Good Parts (S-Curve)

Atomic Rooster  – Sleeping For Years: The Studio Recordings 1970-74 (box set)

Bassnectar – Reflective Part Two EP (Amorphous Music)

Brockhampton  – Saturation III (Brockhampton / EMPIRE)

Chief Keef  – The Dedication (Rbc Records)

Chris Stapleton – From the Room: Volume 2 (Mercury Nashville)

Cindy Wilson [B-52’s]  – Change (Kill Rock Stars)

Cursive – Such Blinding Stars For Starving Eyes: 20th Anniversary [Remastered] (15 Passenger)

Cursive – The Storms Of Early Summer: Semantics Of Song: 20th Anniversary ]Reissue] (15 Passenger)

Danielle Bradbery – I Don’t Believe We’ve Met (BMLG Records)

Deinonychus – Ode To Act Of Murder, Dystopia And Suicide (My Kingdom)

Demons – Embrace Wolf (Spartan)

Deuce – Invincible (Eleven Seven Music)

Down ‘N’ Outz – The Further Adventures Of… Re-Release (Frontiers)

Down ‘N’ Outz – The Further Live Adventures Of… DVD/CD (Frontiers)

Down ‘N’ Outz – My Regeneration Re-Release (Frontiers)

Drakonis – The Great Miasma (Hostile)

Eat Your Heart Out – Mind Games (Fearless)

Eisley/Goldy – Blood, Guts and Games (Frontiers)

Ella Fitzgerald – Ella At Zardi’s  (Verve)

The Faceless – In Becoming A Ghost (Sumerian)

Five Finger Death Punch – A Decade of Destruction (Prospect Park)

Glassjaw – Material Control (Century Media)

Heron Oblivion – The Chapel (Heron Oblivion)

Husbandry – Bad Weeds Never Die EP (Aqualamb)

Izzy Miller & the Black Market Salesmen – American Times (The Standard)

John Williams – Star Wars: A New Hope (Vinyl Box Set) (Walt Disney Records)

Mausoleum – Cadaveric Displays From The Funeral (HPGD)

Miguel – War & Leisure (ByStorm Entertainment/RCA Records)

Minnie Riperton – Perfect Angel Deluxe Edition (Capitol Records)

Morbid Angel – Kingdoms Disdained (Silver Linings)

Neil Young & Promise of the Real – The Visitor (Reprise)

Nicholas Krgovich – In the Open Field (The Angel Records)

Obsession – Marshall Law Reissue (Inner Wound)

Obsession – Methods Of Madness Reissue (Inner Wound)

Obsession – Scarred For Life Reissue (Inner Wound)

Operation Mindcrime – The New Reality (Frontiers)

Penguin Cafe Orchestra – Union Cafe Reissue (Erased Tapes)

Pitbull – Greatest Hits (Mr.305/Polo Grounds Music/RCA Records)

Post Malone – Beerbongs & Bentleys (Republic)

What to say about Post Malone… Well if you’re a fan of hip-hop, trap, country, and alt-grunge, then Post Malone is the dude for you. What better way to introduce yourself to a melting pot of genres from one of the most creative minds on Soundcloud than a brand new album? With a resume as short as his discography but the tool belt to conquer the airwaves, Post Malone is a household name ready to be on a gold Grammy plaque. The NY rapper is his own worst critic, calling his own debut album “mediocre,” but won’t need to be with this up-and-coming EP, Beerbongs & Bentleys. Just give it a listen and appreciate the ability to do literally whatever you want with art. Like him or not, you’ve got to admit that he’s on his own level.


Pretty Boy Floyd –  Public Enemies (Frontiers)

Prurient – Rainbow Mirror (Profound Lore)

The Rolling Stones – On Air (Rolling Stones Catalog)

Roy Wood$ – Say Less (OVO Sound/Warner Bros.)

Rush – A Farewell to Kings: 40th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue (Island Def Jam)

Strfkr – Vault Vol. 3 (Polyvinyl Records)

Subrosa – Subdued Live At Roadburn (Roadburn)

TelemanFünf (Moshi Moshi Records)

Tribal Seeds – Roots Party (Tribal Seeds Music)

U2 – Songs of Experience (Interscope)

Van Morrison – Versatile (Legacy Recordings)

Virginia Wing – Tomorrows Gift (Fire Records)

Wilco – A.M. Deluxe Edition

Chicago’s alt scene is by far one of the best in the nation, and that’s because of bands like Wilco. After thrashing around the scene for over twenty years, it’s finally time to pay homage to the album that started it all: A.M. Their debut album was more than just a debut album, however. The album dropped mere months after the demise of Uncle Tupelo, the band that came before Wilco, and started some competition between itself and Son Volt, vocalist’s Jay Farrar newest project. Nevertheless, it’s time to rejoice in the wake of Wilco’s extensive career and hope for more to come. But first, take a trip down alt-country memory lane and listen to remastered versions of your fav’s, as well as some never before heard songs and rarities! Gosh, don’t you just love deluxe editions?

Z-Ro – Codeine (1 Deep Entertainment / EMPIRE)


New Singles:

Vagabon – “Wits About You”

NY’s favorite indie ethereal songwriter Vagabon has been driving us nuts over here at S16. We knew she was playing a new song out on the road, but must we suffer with crappy YouTube recordings and secondhand snapchats of a snapchat? Yes, that’s literally how we first came in contact with “Wits About You.” Nevertheless, Vagabon ended the madness and shared a demo of the mystery song that’s been stealing stages in venues all over the country.  Thank. Goodness.


Going to be a Smash Hit:

Speak Low If You Speak Love – “Enough”

YOU GUYS, is anyone else freaking out about new music from Ryan Graham? Speak Low If You Speak Love has been an indie staple in all of my playlists for years and I swear I thought I was hallucinating when I saw “Enough” drop. Even better, SLIYSL is dropping a full-length in January! If you’re a fan of unbearably honest songwriting and a voice that sounds like home, my friend, you are in serious luck. Check out the latest single, “Enough,” and get hyped with me. Nearsighted is out January 19th, 2018!


In case you missed it:

Bohnes – “My Friends”

After a handful of years in and out of the music scene, The Cab’s Alexander DeLeon is back in action under the moniker Bohnes. The Cab were pop-punk emo kings back in the mid-2000s, but parted ways on what seemed like friendly terms, each member starting a new chapter in their own lives. Fast forward to 2017 and DeLeon is finally running through the airwaves with his new single “My Friends.” Though a few singles have been dropped before “My Friends,” the build up to a full length has been a long and tedious road. We can only hope for a full blown work of art in 2018, but for now, “My Friends,” a party anthem meant for only the closest of friends, will have to suffice.


**Have an album coming out soon we should feature? Let us know! Indie, Regional, National – as long as you aren’t recording on an iPhone, hit us up! CD RELEASE SHOWS are our jam.

Music journalism and sharing the best of the best artists is our thing.

Shutter 16 Magazine:

Tune In To Our Podcast: