You are here:  / CD Releases / Columns / feature story / New to the airwaves / New to the Airwaves – Albums Out Today

New to the Airwaves – Albums Out Today

New to the Airwaves – Albums Out Today!

Happy Spring! What better way to bring in the new season than with brand new music! We’ve got a ton of pop albums to get the mood right, though there’s your fair share of metal and alt to keep it right.   

This week we’ve got some much anticipated arrivals that has us tapping our toes, crossing our arms, and screeching, “Finally!” We’re sure you can see which ones we think you should grab and which ones we think may deserve a pass… Dive in at your own risk, and let’s hear your picks!

**All dates are for U.S. releases unless otherwise noted. Dates are subject to change.


Amen Dunes – Freedom (Sacred Bones)

Ashley McBryde  – Girl Going Nowhere (Atlantic/Warner Music Nashville)

Ayreon  – Ayreon Universe: The Best Of Ayreon Live DVD/CD (Music Theories)

Barbarossa  –  Lier (Memphis Industries)

Barren Earth  – A Complex Of Cages (Century Media)

Ben Harper & Charlie Musselwhite  – No Mercy In This Land (Anti/Epitaph)

Bettye LaVette – Things Have Changed (Verve)

Cabbage – Nihilistic Glamour Shots (BMG Rights Management)

Czarface & MF DOOM – Czarface Meets Metal Face (Silver Age)

Daphne & Celeste – Daphne & Celeste Save the World (Balatonic)

Deadmau5 – where’s the drop? (Mau5trap Recordings)

DJ Esco – Kolorblind (Certified A-List DJs)

Don Trip – Christopher (Independent)

Escape the Fate – I Am Human (Eleven Seven Music)

FACS – Negative Houses (Trouble In Mind Records)

Failure – In the Future EP (Pledgemusic)

FM – Atomic Generation (Frontiers)

Forever M.C. & It’s Different – Forever M.C. (Rbc Records)

Frankie Cosmos – Vessel (Sub Pop)

The Garden – Mirror Might Steal Your Charm (Epitaph)

Hayley Kiyoko – Expectations (Atlantic)

Henry Green – Shift (Akira)

Her – Her (Universal)

Holy Wave – Adult Fear (The Reverberation Appreciation Society)

Invisible Inc. – Fine Print (Steel Wool/Empire)

J Alvarez – La Fama Que Camina (2018 On Top Of The World Music)

Jean Grae & Quelle Chris – Everything’s Fine (Mello Music Group)

Jukebox the Ghost – Off To The Races (Jukebox the Ghost LLC)

Kacey Musgraves – Golden Hour (MCA Nashville)

Kate Nash – Yesterday Was Forever (Girl Gang)

Kim Richey – Edgeland – 0/12 (Yep Roc)

Kittie – Origins/Evolutions DVD/CD (Self)

Leah James – While She Sleeps (Chartless)

Light the Torch (formerly known as Devil You Know) – Revival (Nuclear Blast)

Lindi Ortega – Liberty (Shadowbox Music)

The Lonely Biscuits – The Universe In You (Most Lonely Records)

Major Murphy – No.1 (Winspear)

Marc Rizzo – Rotation (Combat/EMP)

Mary Chapin Carpenter – Sometimes Just the Sky (Lambent Light)

Naked Giants – SLUFF (New West)

Napalm Death – Coded Smears And More Uncommon Slurs (Century Media)

No Joy / Sonic Boom – No Joy / Sonic Boom EP (Joyful Noise)

Primordial – Exile Amongst The Ruins (Metal Blade)

Queen of Jeans – Dig Yourself (Topshelf)

Red Sun Rising – Thread (Razor & Tie)

Rich the Kid – The World Is Yours (Interscope)

Rob Zombie – Vinyl Box Set Astro-Creep: 2000 Live – Songs Of Love, Destruction And Other Synthetic Delusions Of The Electric Head (Live At Riot Fest)  (Self)

Ruth Koleva – Confidence Truth (Fat Beats)

Saint Jhn – Collection 1 (Empire)

Sam Morrow – Concrete And Mud (Forty Below)

A Scent Like Wolves – Spirit Vessel (CI)

The Shacks – Haze (Big Crown)

Steffany Gretzinger – Blackout (Bethel Music)

Thatshymn – Pacific Standard Time (Vate/Human Re Sources)

Tink – Pain & Pleasure (Machine Entertainment Group)

Trace Mountains (LVL UP’s Dave Benton) – A Partner to Lean On (Figure 2)

TTeo – G, G, G  (Self)

Ty Brasel – Destined for Greatness EP (4 Against 5)

U-God (of Wu-Tang Clan) – Venom (Babygrande)

The Vaccines – Combat Sports (Columbia)

Verge Collection – Flaneur (Self)

The Voidz – Virtue (RCA)

The Weeknd – My Dear Melancholy (Republic Records)

WuW – Rien Ne Nous Sera Épargné (Prosthetic)

Yung Fume & Zaytoven – Level Up  (Payday)

ZEKE – Hellbender (Relapse)

Gonna Be A Smash Hit:


Berlin and Paris based producer Bluestaeb releases new single “Mind” – the first taste of new album Everything Is Always a Process, out via tastemaker label Jakarta Records later this year.

Featuring the vocals of NZ artist Noah Slee and Australia’s multi-disciplinary artist MAÏA, “Mind” is an infinitely soulful duet which showcases all three of the artists in their own right. Groove, beats, a subdued neo-soul sensibility, and melodic adlibs place Bluestaeb alongside acts such as Eric Lau, Kaytranada

Originally started in 2015, the track found its soulmate when Bluestaeb and Noah met at a show in Stuttgart in 2016 and started sending beats back and forth.

Noah did a first version of the song and then invited MAÏA to join and bring another dimension to the track.

In “Mind”, Bluestaeb’s influences shine through, while taking on a sound of their own at the same time. The second part of the beat includes a little reference to one of his favourite tracks by The Roots, bringing more live instrumentation, with slick guitar licks and keys taking the original beat into a more mature space.

In Case You Missed It:

Sunflower Bean – Twentytwo In Blue  (Mom + Pop)

Nirvana married punk and metal. Sunflower Bean has married New Wave and classic rock. Their sound is at times light and airy (“Twentytwo”) and at others crunchingly heavy (“Human For”), yet at all times pristine, clean, and grounded in the also rock of ages old trinity of guitar, bass, and drum. Every song features the type of guitar and drum work that belies a band of their age, both figuratively and literally. Julia’s voice rides over top of this hybridization of New Wave guitar and classic rock with a similar deftness that belies her experience, as well as her past performances. Her voice is stronger, deeper, higher, and lower whenever it needs be here on Twentytwo In Blue in ways it never was on Human Ceremony….. See the full review here

New Video – out today!

A surprise album and two lyric videos today from The Weeknd!

New video – out Sunday!

We’re super excited to be debuting Charlotte band ISH’s new music video for their single ‘Cookie Pusher’! This video was directed by Madelenn Tabor of Gat3 Productions Productions and was filmed at @Smokey Joe’s Cafe and stars Morgan Riley of Blackwater Drowning. The video is dropping Sunday April Fool’s Day at 1pm! In the coming weeks leading up to the release, we’ll be posting bits and parts of the video ‘Cookie Pusher’ by ISH.


**Have an album coming out soon we should feature? Let us know! Indie, Regional, National – as long as you aren’t recording on an iPhone, hit us up! CD RELEASE SHOWS are our jam.

Music journalism and sharing the best of the best artists is our thing.

Shutter 16 Magazine:

Tune In To Our Podcast: