You are here:  / feature story / National Music Coverage / News / New to the Airwaves – Albums Out Today (June 8th)

New to the Airwaves – Albums Out Today (June 8th)

New to the Airwaves – Albums Out This Week

By: Sheila Walsh and Dianna Augustine

Summer is here, which means concert season has arrived, which means more music from all of our favs! It’s finally time to hear all those new songs live, especially from bands who we have been waiting for-ev-er to drop something. This week’s arrivals are sure to find homes on many a playlist, especially with Dave Matthews Band, Lily Allen, and Snail Mail dropping full-lengths.

This week we’ve got some much anticipated arrivals that has us tapping our toes, crossing our arms, and screeching, “Finally!” We’re sure you can see which ones we think you should grab and which ones we think may deserve a pass… Dive in at your own risk, and let’s hear your picks!

Check out our new podcast about music news and the releases hear some tunes and interviews with the artists. It’s new we’re growing if you’d like to be on the podcast LET US KNOW!.


**All dates are for U.S. releases unless otherwise noted. Dates are subject to change.


Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Adrian Younge – The Midnight Hour (Linear Labs)

Andy Brown –  Cedarmont (Decca UK)

Angel –  Woman (Angel – Woman)

Beach Boys –  With the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (Capitol)

Beechwood – Inside the Flesh Hotel (Alive Naturalsound)

Black Sabbath – Supersonic Years The Seventies Singles Box Set (Rhino/Warner Bros.)

Bob Schneider – Blood & Bones (Shockorama)

Boy Azooga –  1, 2 Kung Fu! (Heavenly)

Brooke Annibale – Hold To The Light (Brooke Annibale)

Claptone  Fantast (Pias America)

Dance Gavin Dance –  Artificial Selection (Rise Records)

Dave Matthews Band  Come Tomorrow (RCA)

Dead Sara –  Temporary Things Taking Up Space EP (Atlantic)

Dierks Bentley  The Mountain (Capitol)

Dott – Heart Swell (Graveface)

Eartheater – IRISIRI (PAN)

Eric Burdon and the Animals – The Twain Shall Meet (reissue) (Music on CD)

Eric Clapton –  Life in 12 Bars (UMe)

Erin Rae – Putting on Air (SINGLE LOCK)

Exmortus – The Sound Of Steel (Prosthetic)

Fat Nick –  Generation Numb (Autonomy)

Fire Down Below – Hymn of the Cosmic Man (Ripple Music)

Flasher – Constant Image (Domino Recording Co Ltd)

The Get Up Kids –  Kicker (Polyvinyl Records)

gobbinjr – ocala wick (Topshelf)

Gruff Rhys – Babelsberg (Rough Trade)

Hilary Woods – Colt (Sacred Bones)

Howlin Rain – The Alligator Bride (Silver Current)

Jesse Dayton – The Outsider (Blue Élan Records LLC)

Jon Hassell – Listening To Pictures (Pentimento Volume 1) (Ndeya)

Jonathan Bree – Sleepwalking (Lil’ Chief Records)

Jonathan Cain The Songs You Leave Behind (Fuel Music)

Jorja Smith – Lost & Found (FAMM)

Kadhja Bonet – Childqueen (Fat Possum

Kids See Ghost (Kanye West & Kid Cudi) – Kids See Ghost

Lily Allen – No Shame (Warner Bros./Parlophone)

Lykke Li – So Sad So Sexy (LL Recordings/RCA Records)

Matt Maltese – Bad Contestant (Atlantic Records UK)

Megadeth – Killing Is My Business…And Business Is Good: The Final Kill (Century Media/Legacy)

Mick Ronson – Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story, The Soundtrack (UME Direct)

Nereis – Turning Point (Eclipse)

Ne-Yo – Good Man (Motown Records)

ONA – Onamania (Rear House)

Paul Simon –The Paul Simon Songbook; One-Trick Pony; Hearts and Bones; and The Rhythm of the

Refuge –  Solitary Men (Frontiers)

Pllush – Stranger to the Pain (Father/Daughter)

River Whyless – Kindness, A Rebel (Roll Call)

serpentwithfeet soil (Secretly Canadian)

Shannon Shaw Shannon In Nashville (Easy Eye Sound)

Sheppard Watching the Sky – Empire of Song (Decca-UMO)

Snail Mail – Lush (Matador)

Sugarland Bigger (Big Machine Records and UMG Nashville)

Sun Valley Gun Club The Water, The Stars (Lauren)0

Tomb Mold – Manor Of Infinite Forms (20 Buck Spin)

Tom Waits Small Change (Vinyl Reissue)

Tremonti – A Dying Machine (Napalm)

Various artists, Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story – The Soundtrack (UME Direct)

Virginia Wing – Ecstatic Arrow (Fire)

Yob – Our Raw Heart (Relapse)

Zeal & Ardor – Stranger Fruit (MVKA)

ICYMI Last Week Releases Highlight 

Ben Howard – Noonday Dream (Universal-Island)

The Coathangers – Live (Suicide Squeeze Records)

Father John Misty – God’s Favorite Customer (Sub Pop)

Ghost – Prequelle (Loma Vista)

Kanye West – Love Everyone (GOOD Music, Def Jam Recordings)

Kitten – Pink Champagne EP (Elektra)

LUMP – LUMP (Dead Oceans)

Neko Case – Hell-On (Anti/Epitaph)

Nervosa – Downfall Of Mankind (Napalm)

Witchskull – Coven’s Will (Rise Above)


Gonna Be A Smash Hit:

Dawes (Hub Records), new album Passwords available June 22.


New Video Out Today:

MADBALL (Nuclear Blast) – Release Official Music Video For New Single, “Rev Up”!



Dead Sara (Atlantic Records)

Temporary Things Taking Up Space, available TODAY!

Heaven’s Got A Back Door available for Download/stream at


**Have an album coming out soon we should feature? Let us know! Indie, Regional, National – as long as you aren’t recording on an iPhone, hit us up! CD RELEASE SHOWS are our jam.

Photo by : Steve Ransom for Shutter 16 Magazine

Music journalism and sharing the best of the best artists is our thing.

Shutter 16 Magazine:

Tune In To Our Podcast: