You are here:  / CD Releases / Columns / feature story / New to the airwaves / New to the Airwaves – Albums Out This Week

New to the Airwaves – Albums Out This Week

New to the Airwaves –  Albums Out This Week

Alright, who else is seeing some crazy weather this Spring? Here in Charlotte we saw snowflakes at 8am, then had lunch in the sunshine. Our soundtrack to this insane weather is often fueled by the stuff that’s been dropping every week!  

This week we’ve got some much anticipated arrivals that has us tapping our toes, crossing our arms, and screeching, “Finally!” We’re sure you can see which ones we think you should grab and which ones we think may deserve a pass… Dive in at your own risk, and let’s hear your picks!

**All dates are for U.S. releases unless otherwise noted. Dates are subject to change.


Alexandra Burke The Truth Is (Dekka US)

All Sons & Daughters The Collection (Integrity Music)

Andrew Lloyd Webber Unmasked: The Platinum Collection (Verve)

Bill Frisell  Music IS (Okeh/Sony Masterworks)

Bishop Nehru – Elevators: Act I & II (Independent)

Black Foxxes – REIðI (Spinefarm)

Black Wizard – Livin’ Oblivion (Listenable Records)

The Bonnevilles – Dirty Photographs (Alive Naturalsound)

Caroline Says –  No Fool Like an Old Fool (Western Vinyl)

Casey – Where I Go When I Am Sleeping  (Rise Records)

Chuck Strangers – Consumers Park (Nature Sounds/Pro Era Records)

Creep Show (John Grant & Wrangler) – Mr. Dynamite (Bella Union)

The Crown – Cobra Speed Venom (Metal Blade Records)

The Dean Ween Group – rock2 (Schnitzel)

The Decemberists – I’ll Be Your Girl (Capitol)

DJ Premier and Royce 5’ 9 – PRhyme 2

Dungen & Woods – Myths 003 (Mexican Summer)

Durand Jones & The Indication – Durand Jones & The Indication (Deluxe Reissue) (Dead Oceans/Colemine Records)

Earthless – Black Heaven (Nuclear Blast)

Eyes Of The Sun – Chapter I (Blacklight Media)

Fatboy Slim – You’ve Come A Long Way, Baby (Reissue) (Atralwerks)

Fickle Friends – You Are Someone Else (Interscope)

Frvr Free – Frvr Free EP (Independent)

Garden City Movement – Apollonia (Night Time Stories)

Green Druid – Ashen Blood (Earache Records)

Greyhaven – Empty Black (Equal Vision Records)

Hot Snakes – Jericho Sirens (Sub Pop)

JB Dunckel (of Air) – H+ (Jive Epic)

Kim Wilde – Here Come the Aliens (earMUSIC)

King Witch – Under the Mountain (Listenable Records)

Laura Pausini – Hazte Sentir 0r Fatti sentire (WMI Italy)

The Magic Gang – The Magic Gang (Warner Brothers)

Me’Shell Ndegéocello – Ventriloquism (Naive)

Mount Eerie – Now Only (P.W. Elverum & Sun)

Murs – A Strange Journey Into the Unimaginable (Strange Music Inc.)

Oak Ridge Boys – 17th Avenue Revival (Lightning Rod)t

Paradise Lost – Host Reissue (Nuclear Blast)

Rich Homie Quan – Rich As In Spirit (Independent)

Rivers of Nihil – Where Owls Know My Name (Metal Blade Records)

Sango – In the Comfort Of (Last Gang)

Saweetie – High Maintenance (ICY/Artistry Worldwide)

Scotty McCreery – Seasons Change (Sony)

Snoop Dogg – Bible of Love (RCA)

Stone Temple Pilots – Stone Temple Pilots (Rhino)

Susperia – The Lyricist (Agonia)

Thundercat – Drank (Brainfeeder)

Various Artists – Love, Simon (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (RCA)

Winterlight – The Longest Sleep Through The Darkest Days (n5md)

Yo La Tengo – There’s A Riot Going On (Matador)


Gonna Be A Smash Hit:


Berlin and Paris based producer Bluestaeb releases new single “Mind” – the first taste of new album Everything Is Always a Process, out via tastemaker label Jakarta Records later this year.

Featuring the vocals of NZ artist Noah Slee and Australia’s multi-disciplinary artist MAÏA, “Mind” is an infinitely soulful duet which showcases all three of the artists in their own right. Groove, beats, a subdued neo-soul sensibility, and melodic adlibs place Bluestaeb alongside acts such as Eric Lau, Kaytranada

Originally started in 2015, the track found its soulmate when Bluestaeb and Noah met at a show in Stuttgart in 2016 and started sending beats back and forth.

Noah did a first version of the song and then invited MAÏA to join and bring another dimension to the track.

In “Mind”, Bluestaeb’s influences shine through, while taking on a sound of their own at the same time. The second part of the beat includes a little reference to one of his favourite tracks by The Roots, bringing more live instrumentation, with slick guitar licks and keys taking the original beat into a more mature space.

Mind” is out on March 9th, 2018.


In Case You Missed It:

Superorganism – Superorganism

This eight-piece genre-less (in a good way) band has been confusing all the right people with their self-titled debut. They’re currently being featured in Rolling Stone and rocking Top 40 charts in a handful of nations. Throw this EP on at your next soirée and let the intricate mess of sounds take over.

New Vid – out today!

SAXON Unleash New Video for “Nosferatu (The Vampire’s Waltz)” Taken from the brand new album Thunderbolt, out now. Available to order here

Stay Tuned – Sneak Peek

We’re super excited to be debuting Charlotte band ISH’s new music video for their single ‘Cookie Pusher’! This video was directed by Madelenn Tabor of Gat3 Productions Productions and was filmed at @Smokey Joe’s Cafe and stars Morgan Riley of Blackwater Drowning. The video is dropping on Sunday April Fool’s Day at 1pm! In the coming weeks leading up to the release, we’ll be posting bits and parts of the video ‘Cookie Pusher’ by ISH


**Have an album coming out soon we should feature? Let us know! Indie, Regional, National – as long as you aren’t recording on an iPhone, hit us up! CD RELEASE SHOWS are our jam.

Music journalism and sharing the best of the best artists is our thing.

Shutter 16 Magazine:

Tune In To Our Podcast: