You are here:  / CD Releases / National Music Coverage / New to the Airwaves – Albums Out This Week (August 17th)

New to the Airwaves – Albums Out This Week (August 17th)

New to the Airwaves – Albums Out This Week (August 17th)

Summer is winding down, which means concert season has us blurry-eyed, sore footed, and popping energy drinks like no-one’s business. Music releases are still funneling out to the masses at a rapid rate. Which means more music from all of our favs! It’s finally time to hear all those new songs live, especially from bands who we have been waiting for-ev-er to drop something. This week’s arrivals are sure to find homes on many a playlist, especially with Ariana Grande, Mitski, and Death Cab For Cutie dropping full-lengths.

This week we’ve got some much anticipated arrivals that has us tapping our toes, crossing our arms, and screeching, “Finally!” We’re sure you can see which ones we think you should grab and which ones we think may deserve a pass… Dive in at your own risk, and let’s hear your picks!

**All dates are for U.S. releases unless otherwise noted. Dates are subject to change.


Adam Remnant (of Southeast Engine) – Sourwood (Anyway)

Animal Collective – Tangerine Reef (Domino Recording)

Al Stewart – Zero She Flies / Orange (one-disc reissue) (Ltd Rmst ed. edition)

Annisokay – Arms (SharpTone)

Ariana Grande – Sweetener (Republic)

Austin Lucas – Immortal Americans (Cornelius Chapel)

Bad Sounds – Get Better (Insanity)

Belmont – Belmont (Mutant League)

Black Tusk – T.C.B.T. (Season Of Mist)

Blue October – I Hope You’re Happy (Up Down)

The Brazen Youth – Primitive Initiative (The Brazen Youth)

Buck Owens – Country Singer’s Prayer (Omnivore)

Carnation – Chapel Of Abhorrence (Season Of Mist)

Cemetery Urn – Barbaric Retribution (Hells Headbangers)

Circles Around The Sun – Let It Wander (Rhino)

Cole Swindell – All of It (Warner Nashville)

Conner Youngblood – Cheyenne (Counter)

Cory Wong – The Optimist (Cory Wong)

Cullen Omori – The Diet (Sub Pop)

Dan Owen – Stay Awake With Me (Dan Owen)

Davey Woodward – Davey Woodward & The Winter Orphans (Tapete)

Death Cab for Cutie – Thank You for Today (Atlantic)

Defeated Sanity – Chapters Of Repugnance Reissue (Willowtip)

Dizzy – Baby Teeth (Royal Mountain)

Doro – Forever Warriors, Forever United (Nuclear Blast)

Dragon Inn 3 – Double Line (American Laundromat)

E-40 – The Gift of Gab (SWI/Heavy On The Grind Ent./EMI)

Ella Fitzgerald – Ella At Zardi’s (Vinyl Reissue) (Verve)

Example – Bangers & Ballads (Staneric)

Exocrine – Molten Giant (Unique Leader)

Folk Soul Revival – Folk Soul Revival (Self-released) (Folk Soul)

Forming the Void – Rift (Forming the Void)

Gabrielle – Under My Skin (BMG)

Great Lake Swimmers – The Waves, The Wake (Nettwerk)

Images Of Eden – Soulrise (Pavement)

Julee Cruise – Three Demos (Sacred Bones)

Justin Hiltner & Jon Weisberger – Watch It Burn (Robust)

Kill Everything – Scorched Earth (Comatose)

Kovacs – Cheap Smell (WM Germany)

Lil Pump – Harverd Dropout (Independent)

Mark Schultz – Follow  (Lucid Artist)

The Mattson 2 – Mattson 2 Plays Love Supreme (Spiritual Pajamas)

Mitski – Be the Cowboy (Dead Oceans)

Moonspell – Lisboa Under The Spell DVD/CD (Napalm)

Mushroomhead – Volume III DVD (Megaforce)

The Myrrors – Borderlands (Beyond Beyond Is)

Ninja Sex Party – Cool Patrol  (CD Baby)

Not My Weekend – Yellow (We Are Triumphant)

Oh Sees – Smote Reverser (Castleface)

Papa M. – A Broke Moon Rises (Drag City)

Primitive Man and Unearthy Trance – Split (Relapse)

Ra Ra Riot – The Rhumb Line (10th Anniversary Reissue) (Barsuk)

Rebel Wizard – Voluptuous Worship Of Rapture and Response (Prosthetic)

Saint Nomad – Momento Mori (Word)

Scorpions – Taken By Force (vinyl reissue) (BMG)

STRFKR – Being No One, Going Nowhere (REMIXES) (Polyvinyl)

Sulaco – The Prize (Translation Loss)

Tragedy Khadafi & BP – Immortal Titans (Common Virtue Recs)

Trappist – Ancient Brewing Tactics (Relapse)

Trevor Powers – Mulberry Violence (Baby Halo)

Tyler Bates – Deadpool 2 Original Motion Picture Score (Vinyl Release) (Sony Classical)

Ufo361 – VVS (Stay High)

Uniform – The Long Walk (Sacred Bones)

WHY? – Alopecia (10th Anniversary Reiss (Joyful Noise)

Zahna – Red For War (Rockfest)

New Video Out Today:

Lil Yachty releases the music video for “66 featuring Trippie Redd”.

Young friends, distinctive high voices, split screen, 3.3 billion streams between them (Yachty with 2 billion and lil bro Trippie with 1.3 billion), red hair don’t care, darkness and light, personal clues, and two pet doggies. Stay safe and enjoy!

New Single:


After the announcement last week of STEFFLON DON’S brand-new mixtape ‘Secure’and the release of the two incredible tracks ‘Pretty Girl feat. Tiggs Da Author’ and ‘Lil Bitch (Intro)’, the east London rapper today releases another track from the upcoming record featuring the global superstar FUTURE entitled ‘What You Want’. ‘Secure’ will be dropping physically and via all digital platforms August 17th, pre-order here.

Showing another string to her bow in this new cut from ‘Secure’, Steff carves out her lane within the US rap landscape, teaming up with megastar Future to prove once again she’s one of the most versatile artists out there doing it. ‘What You Want’ strikes a perfect line between her American influences and keeping her feet firmly in the UK scene, a tightrope she manages to walk throughout the mixtape with deft skill.

With ‘Pretty Girl ft Tiggs Da Author’ having already reached a million plays across streaming platforms and ‘Lil Bitch (Intro)’ already receiving rave reviews across the board from the likes of Noisey, The Fader and Highsnobiety, ‘Secure’ is set to send Steff’s global status stratospheric.

Fans who pre-order ‘Secure’ will instantly receive ‘Senseless’, ‘Hurtin’ Me (The Remix)’ and ‘What You Want ft Future’ before the release of the full record this Friday August 17th.

Full track list for ‘Secure’:

  1. Lil Bitch (Intro)
  2. Jellio
  3. Finesse
  4. Interlude
  5. What You Want ft Future
  6. Pretty Girl ft Tiggs Da Author
  7. Uber ft Ebenezer
  8. Precious Heavy
  9. Both Ways ft Fekky
  10. Crunch Time
  11. Favourite Girl ft Haile
  12. Hurtin’ Me (The Remix) ft Sean Paul, Popcaan & Sizzla
  13. Senseless
  14. Regular
  15. Win ft DJ Khaled
  16. Free Drip Tony Montana (Online)

ICYMI Released Last Week:

Jason Mraz “Know”

When he decides to jump back into the music industry as a performer, Mraz is busy winning Grammy’s, singing duets with other pop stars (see: “More Than Friends” with Meghan Trainor), and promoting a healthy, loving lifestyle. His sixth album Know has been rumored to be his best album yet, at least according to the #JasonMraz hasthtag that’s been blowing up lately… see full preview here.

Gonna Be A Smash Hit:


We’ve all been following the confusing, revolutionary, quirky saga the 1975 have been unraveling since the start of the Summer, and it’s nowhere near conclusion. The brit-pop megastars dropped the highly anticipated “TOOTIMETOOTIMETOOTIME” from their latest release A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships. Though we all love a new single, what makes this release more special than the other milestones thus far is the fan-centered love letter of a music video the band made. With dedicated fans surrounding Matty Healy as he and the crowd sing “TOOTIMETOOTIMETOOTIME”, you’ll be sure to fall in love in no time. Though the video hasn’t been released yet, you can few bits and pieces of it via Spotify!


Reverb Nation Spotlight:

Logan Hefner – stay tuned for the interview with the Logan by Megan Dunbar. For now here is one of his singles.

**Have an album coming out soon we should feature? Let us know! Indie, Regional, National – as long as you aren’t recording on an iPhone, hit us up! CD RELEASE SHOWS are our jam.

Music journalism and sharing the best of the best artists is our thing.

Shutter 16 Magazine:

Tune In To Our Podcast: