You are here:  / CD Releases / Columns / feature story / New to the airwaves / New to the Airwaves – Albums Out Friday!

New to the Airwaves – Albums Out Friday!

New to the Airwaves – Albums Out This Week

Happy Spring! What better way to bring in the new season than with brand new music! We’ve got a ton of pop albums to get the mood right, though there’s your fair share of metal and alt to keep it right.   

This week we’ve got some much anticipated arrivals that has us tapping our toes, crossing our arms, and screeching, “Finally!” We’re sure you can see which ones we think you should grab and which ones we think may deserve a pass… Dive in at your own risk, and let’s hear your picks!

**All dates are for U.S. releases unless otherwise noted. Dates are subject to change.


A Hawk & A Hacksaw – Forest Bathing (LM Dupli-cation)

Animal Flag – Void Ripper (Flower Girl/Triple Crown)

A Place to Bury Strangers – Pinned (Dead Oceans)

Barry White – Love’s Theme: The Best Of The 20th Century Records Singles (Mercury)

Behemoth – Messe Noire (Metal Blade)

Beth Hart – Live From New York – Front & Center (Provogue)

Blu & Nottz – Gods in the Spirit, Titans in the Flesh (Coalmine)

Bodega Bamz – Papi (100 Keep It / Duck Down Music, Inc.)

Brazilian Girls – Let’s Make Love (Six Degrees)

Breaking Benjamin – Ember (Hollywood)

The track “Blood” will make you want to punch your steering wheel or throw all your belongings all over the house. The song features a hellish scream from vocalist Burnley and driving guitar that makes you bob your head without even realizing it and damn the chorus is CATCHY!!!  This is a constant throughout the album, it manages to bring the listener into the bands world and understand and relate to these songs….review here.

Chrome Sparks – Chrome Sparks (Counter)

Christa Wells Velveteen (Cinco Ninos)

Confidence Man – Confident Music For Confident People (Pias America)

Crematory Oblivion (SPV/Steamhammer)

The Dali Thundering Concept Savages (The Dali Thundering Concept)

The Damned – Evil Spirits (Spinefarm)

David Bowie – Changesonebowie (Reissue) (Parlophone UK)

Dead City Ruins – Never Say Die (AFM)

Dire Straits – The Studio Albums 1978-1991 (Mercury Records / Vertigo)

Fiddlehead – Springtime and Blind (Run For Cover Records)

Goldmund – Occasus (Western Vinyl)

Greyhounds – Cheyenne Valley Drive (Nine Mile Records)

Isaac Gracie – Isaac Gracie (Virgin Int’L)

Jason Aldean – Rearview Town (Broken Bow)

Jen Ledger Ledger EP (Atlantic Records)

Jim Jones Wasted Talent (Vamplife/EMPIRE)

John Prine – The Tree Of Forgiveness (OH BOY RECORDS)

Josh Rouse – Love in the Modern Age (Yep Roc)

Josh T. Pearson – The Straight Hits! (Mute)

Juliana Hatfield – Juliana Hatfield Sings Olivia Newton-John (American Laundromat)

Killer Dwarfs – Live, No Guff (EMP)

King Gizzard & The Lizzard Wizard – Gumboot Soup (ATO)

King Tuff – The Other (Sub Pop)

L.A. Salami – The City of Bootmakers (Pias America)

Laura Veirs – The Lookout (Raven Marching Band)

Lovecollide Tired Of Basic (Abs Entertainment)

Mackenzie Nicole The Edge (Strange Music)

Many Rooms – There Is A Presence Here (Other People Records)

Metallica – The $5.98 EP – Garage Days Re-Revisited (Reissue) (Rhino/Blackened)

If you’re like us and you can never get enough Metallica…

The band has announced a new ticket option called “The Wherever I May Roam Black Ticket” which may be perfect for you! The ticket allows fans the option for GA floor access to any show on the 2018/2019 tour. All you have to do is pick your date and notify the band 48 hours before the date and they’ll hook you up!!! If you want in though don’t wait there is only 250 of those black tickets being sold and they’ll run you $598!   (Tour preview here.)

The Moondoggies A Love Sleeps Deep (Handly Art)

Mouse on Mars Dimensional People (Thrill Jockey)

Mr. Fingers – Cerebral Hemispheres (Alleviated Records)

The Nels Cline 4 – Currents, Constellations (Blue Note)

Noriel Trap Capos II (Sony Music Latin/Ganda Entertainment)

Peewee Longway Spaghetti Factory (MPA Bandcamp Music Group / EMPIRE)

Pentanoix – PTX Presents: Top Pop, Vol. I (RCA)

Prof – Pookie Baby (Rhymesayers – New Release)

Queen Kwong Love Me to Death (Explicit Lyrics)

RYLR – Actual Existence (The Flenser)

Say Sue Me – When We Were Together (Damnably)

Settle Your Scores – Better Luck Tomorrow (Sharptone)

Simone Felice – The Projector (New York Pro)

Skeletal Remains – Devouring Mortality (Dark Descent)

Slug – HiggledyPiggledy (Memphis Industries)

Sofi Tukker – Treehouse (Ultra)

This Curse – From the Darkest of Places (This Curse)

Tinashe – Joyride (RCA)

U2 – All That You Can’t Leave Behind (Vinyl Reissue)

U2 – Pop (Vinyl Reissue)

U2 – Wide Awake In America (Vinyl Reissue)

Various Artists – Baby Driver Volume 2: The Score For a Score (30th Century Records/Columbia)

Vendetta Red – Quinceanera (Cleopatra)

Waylon – The World Can Wait (WM Benelux BV)

Wrekmeister Harmonies – The Alone Rush (Thrill Jockey)

Wrong – Feel Great (Relapse)

Yashira – Shrine (Good Fight)

In Case You Missed It:

A few albums that came out last week …

Alison Wonderland – Awake (Astralwerks)

Blackberry Smoke – Find A Light (3 Legged Records)

CNCO – CNCO (Sony Music Latin)

The Dead Daisies – Burn It Down (Spitfire)

E-40 & B-Legit – Connected and Respected (Heavy on the Grind Ent.4)

Flatbush Zombies – Vacation In Hell (Glorious Dead Recordings)

Gin Wigmore – Ivory (Interscope)

Kamelot – The Shadow Theory (Napalm)

Kylie Minogue – Golden (BMG)

Lil Xan – Total Xanarchy (Columbia)

Mipso – Edges Run (Antifragile Music)

Peelander-Z – Go PZ Go (Chicken Ranch Records)

Thirty Seconds To Mars – America (Interscope)

Underoath – Erase Me (Fearless) (See our Review)

The Wonder Years – Sister Cities (Hopeless)

Wye Oak – The Louder I Call, The Faster It Runs (Merg)

Zola Jesus – Okovi: Additions (Sacred Bones)


In Case You Missed It: Video

SAXON Unleashed their video for “Nosferatu (The Vampire’s Waltz)” Taken from the brand new album “Thunderbolt”, out now. Available to order here:

Stay Tuned – Sneak Peek

Order the new album Eat The Elephant feat. “Disillusioned,” “TalkTalk,” and “The Doomed” by A Perfect Circle now, available 4/20.


**Have an album coming out soon we should feature? Let us know! Indie, Regional, National – as long as you aren’t recording on an iPhone, hit us up! CD RELEASE SHOWS are our jam.

The leader of the pack, shutter16.fam, head photographer and brain schemer has been a Charlotte based concert photographer since early 2002. Her passion for photography was cultivated by her grandfather, a very well known and decorated war photographer who put the first camera in her very small hands at the age of three.

Shutter 16 Magazine:

Tune In To Our Podcast: