You are here:  / Artist Spotlight / feature story / Interview / New Music / Kick-Off The New Year With Pure Metal Mayhem From Dutch Band Crown for a Killer

Kick-Off The New Year With Pure Metal Mayhem From Dutch Band Crown for a Killer

The Band Will Ring In 2020 With Their Debut EP Ocean

After the hustle and bustle of the Christmas holiday and the hardcore partying of New Year’s Eve, many people are ready for a bit of a break once New Year’s Day rolls around.  In fact, even the iconic Irish rockers of U2 have convinced us that “All is quiet on New Year’s Day.” But this year, on January 1, 2020, something different will be happening as metalheads around the world will be popping some Tylenol and preparing to start the year, indeed the decade, off right with some face-melting metal. What better way to do this than to check out the debut EP release Ocean from the up and coming Dutch metalcore band Crown for a Killer. 

These rising rockers are the real deal with metal pulsing through their veins and a true metal spirit that can not be denied. Their first single “Conflicted Existence” shows off the bands’ natural talents as well as the chemistry between band members. With two vocalists, Paul Sebastian and Thijn van Dijck, you’ll get the best of both worlds with melodic runs and gut-wrenching growls. Guitarists Bjorn Boer and Sem Kuis stay busy lighting up things up with blistering leads and raging riffs while bass guitarist Ian van Diepen and drummer Jens Hendriks drive the punishing pace. 

Where the real magic happens is live on stage as Crown for a Killer will have you moving to their relentless rhythms and moshing ‘til you drop. If you’re lucky enough to be in their neck of the woods which is Eindhoven in the south Netherlands, you can check them out for yourself at Cafe The Jack on January 17 with Nephylim and 7 Tools. If not, don’t worry, you can still pick up Ocean and mosh right in the privacy of your own home. Check out the Spotify link below.

Pre Save Ocean on Spotify Here!

Crown for a Killer Is:

Paul Sebastian- Vocals

Thijn van Dijck- Vocals

Bjorn Boer- Lead Guitar

Sem Kuis- Rhythm Guitar

Ian van Diepen- Bass Guitar

Jens Hendriks- Drums

Shutter 16 recently had the opportunity to speak with Paul and Bjorn and find out all the details about the writing and recording of the new EP. You can check out our interview in full below and as always, you can keep up with the band via their social media pages.

Shutter 16 Magazine:

Tune In To Our Podcast: