You are here:  / feature story / National Music Coverage / Show Preview / Breaking Benjamin Rise To The Top With Latest Album “Ember”

Breaking Benjamin Rise To The Top With Latest Album “Ember”

Breaking Benjamin have had quite the start to 2018 and the band doesn’t look to be slowing down anytime soon. Fresh off a very successful North American Tour with Avenged Sevenfold and Bullet For My Valentine, the band will release their highly anticipated sixth studio album Ember (Hollywood Records) on April 13th. Breaking Benjamin’s newest album is the follow up to 2015’s Dark Before Dawn, which debuted at number 1 on Billboard’s Top 200 and was lead by three number 1 rock radio tracks.

Now with the release of Ember, Breaking Benjamin look to once again be on top of the rock genre!

Ember is familiar, yet unique.

The album’s 12 tracks all carry the Breaking Benjamin sound fans have come to know and love. It remains consistently heavy throughout, and even when the album does get softer it doesn’t ruin the records vibe at all. Vocalist Benjamin Burnley does quite a bit of screaming on the album and it really helps to carry Ember’s momentum throughout; songs like the album’s lead single “Red Cold River” is a perfect example of Burnley’s ability to push his voice. Something different you will also notice about the album is bassist Aaron Bruch and guitarist Keith Wallen pitching in with backup vocals which I love, it adds a new dynamic to the band and those duties previously fell on Burnley.

Burnley’s vocals throughout the record are top notch and so is the album’s production quality. You can see or rather hear a noticeable difference in the attentiveness to the lead vocals. Songs like “Close Your Eyes” and “Torn In Two” (which is one of my favorites on the album) both have a sound reminiscent of 2006’s album Phobia, which is a great reminder of not only how far these guys have come but also how they still without a shadow of a doubt make great rock music.

Another stand out track on the album is “The Dark of You” which features guest Derek Hough doing backing vocals. Derek, who you may know from Dancing With The Stars, is a great addition to the track. The song is honestly one of the best on the album in my opinion. It shows the bands softer side and their ability to bring down the tempo ever so slightly while still remaining melodic and catchy all without disrupting the flow of the album. This is by far one of the album’s tracks that showcases Ben’s vocal ability and just how good Burnley’s voice really is.

I predict “The Dark of You” will be an unexpected favorite among longtime fans of the band and maybe even the reason the band grabs interest from new listeners.

The track “Blood” will make you want to punch your steering wheel or throw all your belongings all over the house. The song features a hellish scream from vocalist Burnley and driving guitar that makes you bob your head without even realizing it and damn the chorus is CATCHY!!!  This is a constant throughout the album, it manages to bring the listener into the bands world and understand and relate to these songs.

Overall I think long time fans of the band will be insanely happy with this next chapter of Breaking Benjamin. I really believe this will mark the triumphant return to the top of the Hard Rock scene. I also foresee a lot of new fans coming their way with this release, the album is great song by song but I highly recommend you listen to Ember from beginning to end to really understand how good this album is.

Ember will be released on April 13th via Hollywood Records. You can Pre-order the record now HERE!

The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Lyra
  2. Feed The Wolf
  3. Red Cold River
  4. Tourniquet
  5. Psycho
  6. The Dark of You
  7. Down
  8. Torn in Two
  9. Blood
  10. Save Yourself
  11. Close Your Eyes
  12. Vega


I look forward to catching Breaking Benjamin live this summer as well and I really hope they play some of these new tracks live. You can see them on a massive Co-headlining tour with Five Finger Death Punch this summer!

Visit the bands website for more information.

Shutter 16 Magazine:

Tune In To Our Podcast: